Me VS Rhubarb Round 1 (rhubarb & orange)

My friend Mara helped me out with my first rhubarb approach by suggesting this website http://www.cavolettodibruxelles.it/2008/06/rabarbaro-ancora where you can see the recipe I’ve used as a base!

As usual I’ve changed things while I was cooking so I’m reporting here my version in English (or kind of!!)

Ingredients:

Rhubarb 500 gr – more or less, I honestly had less!

Flour 300 gr – I had 200 gr

Butter 150 gr – no way I put only 100 gr!

Sugar 150 gr + 3 tbs (tablespoons)

Yolks 3 – of course I had only 2, it wasn’t a happy day in my fridge!

One orange (squeezeed) and here I cheated badly cos I used fresh orange juice I had in the fridge

Baking powder

A pinch of salt

1/2 tbs of vanilla extract  I had it but if you don’t, it’s not a big deal!

First step: clean the rhubarb. Now it was my first time so I washed it, peeled it and cut some off the bottom part…was it the right thing to do?! I have no idea, but the result was great!

Chop the rhubarb in pieces 1 cm or so long and marinate it in the orange juice, adding 3 tbs of sugar.

While the rhubarb is happily resting, prepare the dough by mixing the flour, baking powder, salt and add the butter cut into small flakes.

Use your hands – it’s the best thing – and mix everything until you get a “bread crumbs” looking mixture. At this point add the yolks, vanilla extract and a little bit of water.

You should now have a dough that looks like a Pasta Frolla!

Let it rest in the fridge for 30 mins!

When it’s hard, divide the dough in 2 and create two discs – one for the bottom of the backing tin and the other one to cover the rhubarb that you will put on top of the first one!

If you are going nuts because of the rolling pin, use a plastic foil and place it on top of the dough that you are trying to flatten, it should help!

Remember to rinse the rhubarb before putting it into the first disk of dough!

Close it and cook it for 20-40 mins at 180°.

Eat me time!

Leave a Reply

