Chubby Brezels

I just love brezels!

I never tried baking them because I always thought – for some reason – that you have to fry them.

With my great joy, I discovered I was wrong!

A friend gave me a recipe and today I baked my first brezel.

I had to change slightly the recipe as it was written with American “cups and oz” and it was making me very confused!

Here is my version of the brezel recipe.

Ingredients:

150 gr warm Water

1 teaspoon Sugar

1 and 1/2 teaspoons Salt

1 sachet dry Yeast (the kind you use for bread)

25 gr Butter

450 gr Flour

1 l boiling Water

20 gr Baking soda powder (bicarbonate of soda)

1 Egg yolk

Rock salt (or poppy seeds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds…)

You can prepare your dough by hand or you can use a mixer – guess what I did? LAZY!

Mix together the yeast, the salt, the sugar and the warm water.

When the yeast is melted into the water, add the flour and the butter and knead all together until you have a nice, elastic white dough.

Use your hands to form a ball with your dough and let it rest covered, inside a bowl, for at least one hour.

When your dough is almost doubled then you’re ready for the difficult part: shaping your brezels!

You should cross the two extremities – I didn’t cross mine as it was already quite difficult – so I decided to make the shape a bit easier.

I wet the extremities with my fingers to attach them to the body centre of the brezel.

While you are preparing all your little brezels, boil 1 l of water with 20 gr of baking soda.

Put the brezels into the boiling water and let them cook for 30-60 seconds.

You can use a skimmer to take them out, one by one, and place them on a baking tray.

(I covered my baking tray with baking paper – if you don’t have it, you can oil the tray.)

Beat the yolk with a fork and then with a brush, gently “yolk paint” each brezel.

Tip: Silicone rubber brushes are better for cooking operations as hairy brushes sometimes lose hair – horrible!!!

When you are done “painting”, sprinkle it with rock salt or poppy seeds, pumpkin seeds

Cook for 10-15 minutes in a pre-heated oven at 210° C.

The result is good! I have already eaten 2 of them while writing this post!

One comment

  1. Violantina

    Mi nviene voglia di farli

Leave a Reply

