Wine and Chocolate Cake

A few days ago I went to a birthday party and one of the guests brought a wine and chocolate cake that immediately caught my attention! I tried it and loved it! I loved it less when she told me how much butter she put in the cake – 250 gr!!!! – but I asked for the recipe anyway and baked it – with less butter!

The result was good and I will give you all the ingredients and directions in a second. The lack of butter made the cake a little bit less moist but definitely good, so I’ll let you decide how much butter you’d like to use for this recipe!


Ingredients:

250 gr Flour

250 gr Butter – I used 100 gr, so use any quantity you like between 100 and 250!

250 gr Sugar

4 Eggs

1 Sachet of Vanilla Sugar

1 Sachet of Baking powder

1 tsp Cinnamon Powder

1 tbsp Cocoa Powder

1 tbsp of Chocolate sprinkles

100 – 125 ml of Red Wine – put 100 if you want less of a wine taste and 125 or more if you want a strong wine taste

1 tbsp Icing Sugar

A knob of Butter for the mould

I prepared my mould by taking the knob of butter and spreading it using my fingers all inside the mould.

When the whole mould was covered with a thin butter layer, I sprinkled a big spoon of icing sugar inside and rotated the mould to let the sugar cover all the buttery surface. I put the mould aside and I started preparing the cake batter.

I put the flour, sugar, eggs, wine, melted butter, the cinnamon spoon, vanilla sugar and the baking powder inside my mixer and I mixed everything for a few minutes. If you don’t have a big mixer you can use an electric whisk or a normal whisk that will just slow the process but not change the result.

Your batter will have a grey colour because of the wine. Pour the batter in a bowl and add a big spoon of cocoa powder and another spoon of chocolate sprinkles.

When you put your cocoa powder and sprinkles in the batter you have to mix them with the batter, but to have a “marble effect” you have to stir gently – but just a bit – so the ingredients don’t mix fully.

Pour the creamy batter inside the mould.

Let the cake bake for 30-40 mins at 180°.

The icing sugar will create a great crunchy thin sugar layer around the whole cake that will make it look like if it was frosted.

Leave a Reply

