Jiro Dreams Of Sushi – 2011 Movie

Which category should I put my post talking about Jiro Dreams of Sushi?

I am not sure but it’s an incredible movie telling the story of 85-year-old Jiro Ono, sushi Master!

The movie is all in Japanese with English subtiles and “AS A DOCUMENTARY ABOUT WORLD-CLASS SUSHI, THIS FILM IS DEFINITIVE… I FOUND MYSELF DRAWN INTO THE MYSTERY OF THIS MAN.”-ROGER EBERT, CHICAGO SUN-TIMES

Anyway the movie takes you around the life of Jiro Ono, considered by many to be the world’s greatest sushi chef. He is the owner of Sukiyabashi Jiro, a 10-seat – and 3 Michelin stars! – sushi-only restaurant surprisingly located in a Tokyo subway station. Despite its humble appearances, it’s quite an expensive restaurant – at least for me as I checked what 30,000 yen is converted in Euro…and for 20 pieces of the best sushi in the word, it’s still a bit pricy!!! – but sushi lovers from around the globe reserve their seats months and months in advance.

Jiro Ono, has been recognised by the Japanese government as a living national treasure for his contributions to Japanese cuisine.

To tell you the truth I didn’t find Jiro extremely likeable until the end of the movie. He is a perfectionist, a man of an ancient culture so far removed from mine that I had to learn how to appreciate him during the movie.

The movie made me dream of going to the Tokyo fish market, but as it’s not the easiest thing for me right now I think I will just go out to eat sushi tonight, seeking the perfect tuna piece there, knowing that it will taste nothing like what I saw in the movie.

Check out the official trailer on youtube!

Leave a Reply

