Homemade Natural Soap – My number 100!

I’ve been stuck for more than a week thinking and thinking which special recipe I should write for my hundredth post.

I thought of saying something about me and my blogging experience, how I would have never thought of getting to 100 posts so quickly and so on…

After I realised this would have been the most boring post ever! The most dull and predictable!

In the end I decided to “cook” something that you can not eat and to share a “special recipe“!

Before starting with the preparation you need to know that in my family, we believe that keeping a horse-chestnut in your pocket, or in your bag, during winter will keep the cold away from you, and you will be preserved healthily to face the winter – by the way it works!!!!

When I was walking through the park, I picked up a new horse-chestnut and I remembered something that I’d forgotten for a very long time. When I was little I used to grate horse-chestnut to make soap!

Ingredients:

Horse-chestnuts

Desiccated Lavender flowers or other flowers such as rose petals

Peel the horse-chestnut, cut them in pieces and put them inside a very powerful mixer.

My childhood recipe was a bit different, we used to grate all the horse-chestnuts to make a very smooth cream. Today I decided to put the chestnuts inside a mixer and spin it fast but unfortunately the texture obtained is a bit more rough. If you have time, or you have kids who would love to prepare their own soap, I would suggest you go back to the “old fashioned” method.

When you are done with the mixer – or with the grater – you can add some flowers to give  your soap a nice smell. The nuts don’t really smell like anything so I used a few desiccated lavender flowers.

I decided to give two different shapes to my soap: a rounded one, using a cap from a jar; and a small heart shape using a cookie mould. You can make any shape you like, of course!

If you have a garden or a terrace and it’s a sunny day you should leave your soap in the sun to dry but if you don’t…put it in the oven at 100° and let it dry, turning it at least once.

Before using it, make sure it’s hard enough and well dry.

The horse-chestnuts are not edible – clean your mixer well after using it – but these nuts are so beautiful that at least I could do something with them!

2 comments

  1. Violantina

    complimenti hai una fantasia meravigliosa e devo dirti che ormai aspetto quello che scrivi con vero piacere.E non lo dico perche’ sono la mamma!

  2. Thanks for posting this information. I was looking for what the real color of the inside of horse chestnuts or conkers, or buckeyes was, and this looks like they are very white. Almost the same ‘white’ of a water chestnut. The edible chestnuts I’m used to are more yellow in color. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

