Dark Chocolate And Almond Truffle Cake

My friend Anne has no oven so she came over to use mine. She literally eats only chocolate! I swear: it’s not a joke, she is a chocolate monster but a pretty and skinny one – I should try her diet!!!

So, of course, what we cooked together contained chocolate! A lot of chocolate!

The photos are not so good because it was late in the evening, the light in my kitchen is not the best and I was quite tired so, to be honest, I didn’t bother too much, but the cake is incredibly good so trust me (and not my photos) for this post!

Ingredients:

200 gr Dark chocolate

200 gr Butter

200 gr Sugar

200 gr chopped Almonds

6 Eggs

2 tbsp Flour

1 pinch of Salt

Cocoa powder to decorate

You need to leave the butter outside of the fridge so it can get soft, making it much easier to mix it with the sugar. I don’t think I have to mention it – because you probably know that I am lazy – but I used my electric whip to mix everything.

I melted the chocolate in the microwave but, if you are patient, you can melt it in a bain marie.

While your chocolate is melting, you can divide the eggs and add the yolks to the butter and sugar mix.

Pour the melted chocolate inside the mix and then add the almonds and the flour.

In a separate bowl, beat the white of the eggs until stiff – adding a pinch of salt will help to obtain a firm egg foam.

Gently fold the contents of the two bowls together and spread it inside a baking tray.

Cook the cake for 30 mins at 180°. It’s important that the cake is not overcooked and maintains a moist heart.

We decorated the cake with cocoa powder – to keep it very chocolaty!

The cake melted in our mouths and disappeared so quickly that I didn’t even manage to take a decent final photo.

Leave a Reply

