Gianduia Cake

The last issue of ‘Sale & Pepe‘ is definitely a good one to buy! There is a great report on hazelnuts and chocolate! I think I will probably try out all the cakes listed!

So far I have only baked one of them and I turned the recipe into an easier version that worked very well without driving me nuts!

I give you my simplified version and if you have the chance, I suggest you get the October issue of the magazine.

Ingredients:

150 gr Butter

180 gr Gianduia chocolate – I used ‘Giandor’; you can also use the hazelnut ‘Frigor’

80 gr Flour

80 gr chopped Hazelnuts

180 gr Icing Sugar

4 Eggs

A pinch of Salt

30 gr Sugar

Cocoa powder or Icing Sugar for the topping

Whipped cream to accompany

Melt the butter and the chocolate in the microwave – or bain marie – stir, and then add the egg yolks.

Mix the hazelnuts and the icing sugar and add them to the chocolate mix, together with the flour.

I suggest you use a mixer because the batter gets quite firm.

In a separate big bowl, beat your white eggs with a pinch of salt and the 30 gr of sugar until stiff.

Add the chocolaty hard batter into the big bowl with the foamy eggs and gently mix the two into one.

Pour the batter into a baking tray – it is better if you use a small, deep one, which, of course, I didn’t have!

Cook at 230° for 10 mins and after for another 20-25 mins at 180°.

Let the cake cool down and put it in the fridge for a few hours before eating it.

Decorate with cocoa powder or icing sugar and serve it with whipped cream!

Result: good, a bit too sweet for my taste but not bad at all.

It is good to prepare in advance if you have guests coming over and you don’t want to end up cooking everything last minute!

Calories per slice?…Ahem don’t ask me!

Leave a Reply

