Mushrooms and Cabbage Cream Soup

If you made my stuffed cabbage you probably have the same leftovers that I have in the fridge.

The most ‘scary’ one is a boiled cabbage heart that I truly had no desire to eat!

While I was writing the 200 Super Soups post, I thought that I could have gotten rid of the ‘evil cabbage’ putting it inside a soup and so I did.

Ingredients:

Serves 2

1 (boiled) Cabbage

1/2 Onion

A small Garlic clove

A fist of dry Porcini mushrooms

5-10 fresh Champignons mushrooms – or different mushrooms

A mushroom Stock Cube – or a vegetable one

A pinch of Parsley

400 ml of Water

A big spoon of Whipped cream – or 100 ml of double cream

Grated Parmesan cheese and a sprinkle of olive oil to finish

My cabbage was a left;over so it was already boiled but I really don’t think you have to boil it before, you can cut it in small pieces and cook it in a pot with the water. Add the stock cube.

Leave the dry Porcini mushrooms to soften in a cup with warm water. Squeeze them and add them into the pot. Strain the mushrooms water in a very small colander and add it inside the pot.

Cut the fresh mushrooms and add them to the other ingredients.

Then pour the double cream – or the whipped cream – in the pot and let the soup cook for at least 15 minutes. If your cabbage was fresh maybe your soup needs to cook for a bit longer.

Mix your soup with a blender, sprinkle the parsley, the olive oil and a bit of Parmesan on top of each soup bowl and you’re done!

The soup tastes more like mushroom than cabbage (thankfully!).  If you want it to be more creamy increase the double cream quantity and if you want a lighter version you can even leave it out.

Just finished my bowl and I’m satisfied also because I found a way to use the cabbage that if not, was on its way to the recycle bin.

Leave a Reply

