Pumpkin and Hazelnut Cake (With a Cinnamon Kick)

More and more pumpkin! It’s in season, so I’m trying to use it in every recipe, inventing new ones too.

(The truth is that a friend of mine gave me a massive pumpkin from her garden and I’m trying to use it!)

I bet I will be sick of it before the Winter begins but for the moment I’m ok so I baked another cake using pumpkin as the main ingredient and as the weather is putting me in “cold season mood” I’ve started using some spices too!

Ingredients:

150 gr chopped Hazelnuts

150 gr Pumpkin

150 gr Sugar

2 Eggs

40 gr Flour

The zest of one Lemon

1 Sachet of Yeast

1 Pinch of Salt

1 tbsp Cinnamon powder

1 tbsp Icing Sugar to decorate

1 more tbsp Cinnamon powder to decorate

My hazelnuts were entire so I started my recipe by chopping them into powder and putting them aside.

I put the sugar and the lemon zest in the mixer until the lemon zest was completely reduced in tiny bits.

I cut the pumpkin in small cubes, added them to the sugar mix and reduced it all to a puree.

I added the eggs and all the other ingredients after, mixed everything and poured the batter into a baking tray that I prepared in advance with some wet baking paper.

The batter quantity is not huge so you should use a small, deep baking tray and if you need a bigger cake you should double all the ingredients.

As the cake is tall, I set the oven temperature at 160° for 10 mins and after at 180° – with no ventilation – for another 30 mins.

The cake should be crunchy and well cooked outside and have a moist heart.

I sprinkled my cake with a mix of icing sugar and cinnamon powder so the topping was closed to a very light pink colour.

4 comments

  1. I haven’t really experimented with baking with pumpkin at all, so thanks for the seasonally timely inspiration 🙂

  2. This looks and sounds fantastic. I’m working with pumpkins this next couple of weeks…I’m going to try and add this to things to try. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

