Pumpkin Chutney

Lately I totally abused the use of pumpkins in my cooking! I decided I was going to stop for a bit but here in Geneva you can find very beautiful pumpkins on sale everywhere and I decided to give this incredible pumpkin chutney a go!

I took a chutney recipe as a starting point and I twisted it adding pumpkin and some other ingredients but I had a problem because the original recipe was definitely wrong and my chutney came out a bit too liquidy.

I’m giving you the ingredients list and I’ve already drastically reduced the quantity of apple vinegar that you should use – if you find that now yours is too firm though, just add a little bit more and you should be definitely fine.

It tastes incredible anyway!

Ingredients:

600 – 650 gr Pumpkin

400 – 500 ml Apple Vinegar

2 Garlic cloves

1 Cinnamon Stick

4 Cloves

250 gr Red Onions

1 Kg Tomatoes

60 gr Raisins

A piece of fresh Ginger or 2 spoons of ginger powder

350 gr Brown Sugar

350 gr Sugar

Salt and Pepper

1 tsp of Nutmeg powder

1 tsp of Aniseed powder

If you don’t have the last two ingredients don’t worry!

The list of ingredients never ends – sorry about that! – but basically when the pain to find everything you need ends, things will get much easier and you just have to chop things in big pieces and throw everything in a deep pot.

I would add the vinegar at the end and use the ‘old trick‘ to peeling the tomatoes as you really don’t want the tomato skin inside your chutney. How does it work? Easy!!! You cook the tomatoes in hot water for a few moments and the skin will come off so easily that you will be surprised!

I cooked my chutney for 1 hour and when the pumpkin was soft enough I took a third of the contents of the pot and I put it inside a masher and then back into the pot.

I also put back into the pot every bits left inside the masher.

I washed a decent quantity of jars in the dishwasher at the highest temperature and prepared them to welcome my chutney!

I poured the hot – very hot – chutney inside the jars, put the lids on and I turned the jars upside down.

When the jars were cold I placed them inside my fridge – I don’t think it’s really needed, as the lids should be sealed by now – hoping that the chutney will last 2-3 months and knowing that I will eat or give away most of it in probably less than 2 weeks!

A quick additional note: you can change the quantity that you put in the masher to change the consistency and can even leave it as it is if you don’t have a masher.

If you have a tiny flat like mine be ready to smell chutney for at least a week….

Leave a Reply

