Black Risotto with Pumpkin and Squid

I’m still in ‘pumpkin mood’ but I wanted to change a bit and find something slightly different from the usual pumpkin recipes so I dug inside my kitchen cupboard and I found a pack of ‘Riso Venere’ – black rice!

What else did I have in the kitchen? A frozen giant squid! Could these 3 things go well together?!

There was only one way to find out…

Ingredients:

Riso Venere – Black rice

1 Giant Squid – or a few small one

1 Shallot

1 Vegetable Stock Cube

A big piece of Pumpkin

Olive Oil

A glass of White Wine

I prepared my risotto in the usual way, starting with a soffritto base, roasting the chopped shallot in a pot with hot olive oil and a glass of white wine.

I cut the giant squid in small pieces and added it to the shallot.

I cut the pumpkin in cubes and I put it in next, followed by the rice and then let everything toast for a bit, stirring carefully.

Usually I don’t make broth as you’re suppose to when you prepare your risotto – I just drop the stock cube inside the pot and I boil some water with a kettle and pour it directly into the risotto.

The result is absolutely the same but at but least I don’t have to use another little pot on the cooker.

I poured hot water for as long as the risotto needed it and I let it cook.

This particular rice doesn’t cook very quickly and even when it’s cooked it still a bit harder than normal rice, so don’t worry if you find it a bit more chewy.

The experiment was a good one! Everyone loved it! The only shame is that the rice dyed everything black and my initial idea of having some orange bits standing out was not really possible in the end.

One more pumpkin experiment accomplished before the end of the pumpkin season!

Leave a Reply

