Raspberry and Mint Brownies

Raspberries and chocolate: I have an insane passion for this mix!

Someone once baked these amazing brownies for me – they are the supreme mix of chocolate and raspberries – with a lot of love and probably a lot of swearwords too as the recipe is not super easy!

How come the mint ended up in between my perfect ‘couple’?! Inspiration of the day!

I had mint leaves inside my fridge and I didn’t want to waste them so I thought they would add a bit of ‘mystery‘ to my brownies!

Ingredients:

350 gr Dark Chocolate

250 gr Butter (this is the quantity in the original recipe…I used 100 gr less)

3 Eggs

250 gr Brown Sugar

110 gr Flour

1 tea-spoon of Yeast

1 pinch of Salt

175 gr Raspberries – frozen or fresh

Mint leaves

Icing Sugar to decorate

Melt the butter and the chocolate together in a bowl – ‘usual story’: in the microwave or bain-marie.

Mix eggs and sugar in a big bowl with a whisk until you obtain a foamy batter. Then pour the melted chocolate into the bowl and mix everything again, adding the flour, salt and yeast to complete your batter.

I wasn’t sure when to add the mint but in the end I washed it, chopped it in small pieces, and added it to the batter before pouring it into the baking tray.

It is not raspberry season so I used frozen raspberries that, by the way, I find quite handy to have in the freezer!

(My friend’s son actually eats them from frozen like candies and the beauty of it is that they are definitely healthier than candies and incredibly delicious!)

I poured a layer of batter inside the baking tray and added the raspberries – the photo just shows a few of them – and I covered them with the leftover batter.

I cooked the brownie with ventilation at 180° C for 10 minutes and then without ventilation for an additional 20-25 minutes.

I sprinkled the brownies with icing sugar and ate them while they were still a bit warm inside.

My tiny flat is still smelling like chocolate!

The final brownies were incredibly crunchy on the outside and moist inside with both a mint and sharp raspberry flavour!

I think the mint helped to soften the heavy chocolate feeling you can get sometimes when you eat brownies.

I love it – you should definitely try it!

Leave a Reply

