Crunchy Croutons for Salads and Soups

Recently I used some toast bread – the square one with brown borders – but for my previous recipe I cut off all the borders so I ended up with a pack of bread borders…

As I mentioned I’m in this ‘wintry soup mood‘ so I decided to keep the bread leftovers and make croutons instead of throwing it away.

This is not much of a recipe, it’s just a nice way to reuse something in the way our grandmothers would have done (bearing in mind that I already mentioned that mine were rubbish cooks so it is maybe not my case but anyway it sounded nice…).

Ingredients:

Leftover bread

Mixed Herbs (Rosemary, Oregano, Thyme, Marjoram…)

Olive oil

Salt

Place all your bread bits inside a baking tray covered with baking paper. Sprinkle the bread with herbs, salt and olive oil.

leftover breadherbs and oil

Then put the bread in the oven at a high temperature until it becomes crispy…et voilà you now have some crunchy croutons!

I left mine long like little sticks but you can cut them in small squares before re-baking them if you prefer handy, smaller croutons.

You can keep your croutons inside a jar or a container and use them on soups or salads.

crutonscrutons on soup

2 comments

  1. Hi TKT, Thank for visiting my blog so I can find you!
    You have a very unique/interesting/fine blog, which you are hiding! Your blog MUST be shared with the world by tagging your posts with most searched tags: recipes, food, cooking, baking, even ‘travel’ for the restaurant posts… what ever is appropriate for each post. Looking forward to your future posts. 😀 Fae.

Leave a Reply

