Orange Zest Cake

On Sunday I went to my friend’s house for brunch and she told everyone there about this blog…no pressure ahhhhhh!!!

The table was just full of incredible things from everywhere as everyone cooked something! It was nice and gave me an idea that I will explain to you probably in my next post…

Back to what I brought now! I asked my friend if I should have made something sweet, something salty, something… something… but she gave me no help on that so, I decided to bake an orange cake as I was not 100% convinced by the one I cooked some time ago.

This cake has a huge quantity of butter – at least for my baking standards – but it was nice and soft…ahhhhh damn butter!!!

Ingredients:

For the cake:

4 Eggs

200 gr Brown Sugar – normal sugar is fine too

250 gr Melted Butter

1 Orange – you will use the orange zest and the orange juice!

1 sachet of Yeast

280 gr Flour

80 gr ground Almonds

1 tsp Vanilla sugar

1 tsp Cinnamon powder

1 tsp Ginger powder

1 tsp Nutmeg powder

1 tsp Clove powder

(If you have a spice mix for Xmas cookies and Gingerbread you can use that, it’s easier!)

For the Syrup:

Another Orange

150 gr Icing Sugar

50 gr Butter

The cake is big! Very big! I ended up making one normal sized cake and a tiny additional cake because the batter didn’t fit inside my cake mould! So think about it before starting!

starting...

I’ve started by mixing the eggs with the sugar until I got a soft white-ish cream, then I added the melted butter, the orange juice and the orange zest, and mixed again!

orange zest

Add all the other ingredients, mix again and pour the batter into a – big – baking tray. Cook it at 180° for 30-40 minutes.

In the meantime I prepared the syrup. I put the orange juice, the zest, the icing sugar and the butter into a pot and boiled them for a few minutes

syrup

When I took the cake out of the oven I made a lot of little holes using a toothpick: my cake definitely looked weird!!! I poured all of the syrup on top of the cake slowly to give it time to be absorbed.

almost readypouring the syrupThe cake was nice and moist, but I forgot to take final photos!!!! I would suggest you keep some zest to decorate, as what pour on top is not enough to have a nice effect.

This is the last photo I took while the cake was absorbing the syrup!

sucking juice

My mistake! But maybe my friends from the brunch could give their feedback… if they liked it!

Leave a Reply

