Pink Lady Crumble

My friend Laura came to visit for the weekend and she left me a precious Pink Lady apple that – she maintains – tastes like rose.

Pink Lady

I tried it and I’m not sure I can express the same excitement but it made me come up with an idea!

My first – ever – Pink Lady Crumble with rhubarb and pink lady apple but most of all a secret ingredient: a few drops of rose syrup!

Pink, pink, pink Spring mood even if Spring is hiding somewhere else and here, today, is as grey as a November day!

Ingredients:

500 gr Rhubarb

1 big Pink Lady Apple

2 tbsp of Rose Syrup

100 gr Brown Sugar

For the crumble topping:

100 gr Flour

100 gr Brown sugar

75 gr Butter

2 tbsp Rose Syrup

RhubarbRose Syrup

I had the stupid feeling that preparing a crumble wasn’t easy but I was wrong, even if for a second, looking at my crumble inside the oven I was sure I had messed up! It turned out I hadn’t – thankfully! – but if it looks like it is exploding, it’s normal apparently…

I used a Pyrex tray, I’ve always called it a Pyrex and I’m not sure it has another name but basically it’s one of those thick glass – pyrex!- trays that can go on top of the cooker and inside the oven.

You can use a normal baking tray of course, but it’s just easier to use something in which you can cook the fruits and after add the topping without changing the pot.

Anyway I’m acting in a picky way – way too picky! If you don’t have it, just use a pot for the fruit and a baking tray after.

Cut your rhubarb and your ‘pink lady’ in small and big pieces. The rhubarb almost melts while cooking, as for that you should keep a few pieces a bit bigger. Add the sugar and two big spoons of rose syrup and let it cook while you prepare the topping.

cooking timeSugar and flour

While your house starts smelling incredibly sweet, get your hands dirty to make the crumble topping.

In a bowl, rub the butter into the flour and sugar until you have fine crumbs, drop in a spoon or two of rose syrup.

Sprinkle the crumble topping on the stewed fruit, trying to cover it evenly, and cook in the oven at 180° C for 40 mins until the top is golden and biscuity!

toppingyummy!Serves it warm with yogurt or ice cream and if you want you can pour some more rose syrup on the vanilla ice cream!

Leave a Reply

