Almeta’s 4S Spring Strawberries and Spinach Salad

In this Spring that has turned into Autumn and in this Summer that seems will never come, I saw one ray of sunshine – freezing temperature thoug – and I immediately took advantage of it to make this incredible salad!

a ray of sunshine!

My friend Almeta gave me this recipe a long time ago but it was never the right moment to post it, or I forgot to take pictures or, or, or… maybe it was just waiting for this moment.

As I’m tired of this shitty weather, this is definitely the best moment for my friend’s colourful salad with strawberries and spinach to cheer up the mood!

I made it for my mum and she was not convinced at all while I was washing the ingredients but after she loved it, and she decided she will make it next time she’ll invite friends over for dinner!

Be brave, go for it and you will enjoy it as much as I do every time!

Ingredients:

(American way of listing ingredients using cups, quart and ounces: it’s Almeta’s recipe so I will leave it as she wrote it for me).

2 tablespoons sesame seeds
1 tablespoon poppy seeds
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup distilled white vinegar
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce (I didn’t have any…)
1 tablespoon minced onion
10 ounces fresh spinach – rinsed, dried and torn into bite-size pieces
1 quart strawberries – cleaned, hulled and sliced
1/4 cup almonds

Wash your spinach and your strawberries, cut and slice them!

sinachstrawberries slices!

In a medium bowl, whisk together the sesame seeds, poppy seeds, sugar, olive oil, vinegar, paprika, Worcestershire sauce and chopped onion.

dressing
You can just blend the sauce in the mixer so that you don’t have to mince the onion. Also it’s good if you use balsamic vinegar, or apple vinegar instead of normal vinegar.

In a large bowl, combine the spinach, strawberries and almonds or if you have a large deep plate you can layer the spinach, topped by the strawberries sliced in long thin slices, covered them with a layer of feta cheese roughly chopped. Then sprinkle everything with the almonds. I roasted the almonds before and crunched them into small medium pieces.

I like to serve the sauce on the side so it can be poured on top at the very end, leaving the spinach almost crunchy.

Almeta's Salad

Everyone who sees the salad or reads the recipe, is not convinced at first but after they try it, they all ask for the recipe and end up making it over and over again for themselves and to impress their guests, so you should definitely trust me and try it!

Thank you Almeta!

Leave a Reply

