Ricotta Quiche

My French-speaking friends make a lot of fun of my favourite Italian cooking magazine  (I admit after some time of disappointment I made peace with it and now I love it again). They make jokes – bad ones – about its title: ‘Sale & Pepe‘!

If you don’t speak French you will not get it and if you do, you might not get it either and I have the feeling that is the best situation in any case.

But despite the hilarious atmosphere recently generated around it I really liked the last two issues! Honestly brilliant! Full of very interesting recipes that I started to try out and to tweak as usual! If you can read it in Italian try to get them, if not be patient as I’ll do my best to try out and post some recipes even if they will come out a bit different for sure.

Sale & Pepearticles

The first recipe I tried out – and changed – is a Ricotta Quiche, below you can find my version that is just slightly different from the original and that made me think that the original recipe’s photos where a bit…strange, or at least very different from mine taken with a phone… or I completely messed up  the recipe… but it was quite good and everyone enjoyed it.

Ingredients:

1 roll of ready pasta brisée – puff pastry or similar for a salty quiche

250 gr fresh Ricotta cheese

A few Spring onions

10-12 Cherry Tomatoes

100 ml double Cream

3 Eggs

2 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese

Thyme, salt and pepper

Olive Oil

The original recipe said to cook most of the vegetables in the oven first, or boil them; I’m for the quick way – which also includes not using 100 pots, dishes, baking plates and so on, if possible.

So I roasted the tomatoes in a little bit of olive oil and thyme.

I mixed the ricotta, the eggs, the double cream, the Parmesan, the salt and pepper in a bowl and then I added all the green parts of the spring onions, roughly chopped.

I sliced the white bits of the spring onions in 4 slices and kept them aside.tomatoes & thymespring onions

I poured the mix into the baking tray – which I prepared with the pastry before – and I added the tomatoes and the sliced spring onions.

I’ve cooked it for 30 mins at 180°C in a ventilated oven…and everything was eaten.

not cooked...yet!Ricotta quiche

Leave a Reply

