Apple and Raspberry Crumble

Sunday baking…Sunday no levure in my kitchen so no cake…

It’s raining and moving towards autumn and I really felt like baking a massive apple, yogurt and nuts cake, but I had to give up as everything is shut here on Sunday.

The only problem was that when I found out I had no yeast I had already cut two apples and poured some sugar into a bowl with butter…what to do? A crazy sweet fruit salad with butter…out of the question!

I looked around in my kitchen and found some frozen raspberries forgotten at the bottom of my freezer, an old pack of oat flakes, some sliced almonds – definitely not enough to do anything that would make sense – and a new pack of flour that I hadn’t opened yet.

So…crumble!!!!!

Ingredients:

For the Apple filling

Two apples

2 Spoons of Sugar

100/200 gr raspberries – mine were frozen 🙂

1 Spoon of chopped almonds

For the crumble topping

100 gr Sugar

100 gr Flour

60 gr Butter

100 gr Oat flakes

1 Spoon of Cinnamon and Nutmeg mix – or mixed winter spices

I used a baking tray that you can also put directly on the heat, and I let the sugar melt while cooking the apples and raspberries.

I didn’t peal my apples – I was lazy!

apple and raspberriescrumble base

In a separate bowl I prepared the topping mix by rubbing the butter into the flour and sugar until I had fine crumbles; then I added the spoon of spices  and the oats, mixed everything again using my hands.

crumbling stage 1crumbling

I covered the apples and raspberries with a thick layer of crumble topping and I cooked (I’m cooking!!!!) everything until the topping didn’t look crunchy.

cooking time!The flat has a lovely smell of sweet apples and I’m planning to try out my crumble with some yogurt immediately!

one more crumble!

Leave a Reply

